Department of Fisheries Oceanography and Marine Ecology

This is a parallax text block. Click the edit button to change this text.

About the department

The basic activity of the Department of Fisheries Oceanography and Marine Ecology is research in the South Baltic Sea area as well as its lagoons (Szczecin Lagoon, Vistula Lagoon) in:

  • Biology, ecology and taxonomy of the following groups of organisms:
    • phytoplankton
    • zooplankton
    • ichthyoplankton
    • macrozoobenthos
    • meiobenthos
    • young fish
  • Assessment of the state of fish food supplies;
  • Mapping of marine and freshwater fish spawning areas;
  • Examinations of fish larvae with the application of otolith microstructure;
  • Ecology of the invasive species;
  • Assessment of the marine environment condition with a particular attention paid to:
    • assessment of the size of biogenic components inflow to the Baltic Sea from various sources on the territories of Poland;
    • assessment of the level of marine environment pollution with antropogenic waste, with particular attention paid to microplastics.

Apart from the research work, the Department conducts the following expert activities:

  • Complex biological studies of the marine environment, including the studies conducted in connection with the construction and operation of marine infrastructure (submarine installations, wind farms, hydrotechnical structures);
  • Complex assessment of the impact of human activities and ventures conducted in the sea areas on the marine environment;
  • Mapping of bottom habitats in marine areas;
  • Defining natural determinants in spatial development plans of marine areas;
  • Analyses of spatial data in the Geographic Information Systems (GIS);
  • Ecological modelling.

Staff

NAMEE-MAILTELEPHONE NUMBER
Acting Head
Dr. Adam Woźniczkaawozniczka@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-224

Deputy Head
Dr. Mariusz Zalewskimzalewski@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-141

Professors
Dr. Dariusz Fey, Professor of NMFRIdfey@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-130
Prof. Ryszard Kornijówrkornijow@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-340
Prof. Tomasz Linkowskitlinkowski@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-133
Dr. Eng. Marianna Pastuszak, Professor of NMFRImpastuszak@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-126
Dr. Barbara Urban-Malinga, Professor of NMFRIbmalinga@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-152
Senior scientists
Dr. Anetta Amerykaameryk@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-289
Dr. Aleksander Drgasadrgas@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-130
Dr. Katarzyna Piwoszkpiwosz@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-227
Dr. Jan Warzochajwarzocha@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-147
Dr. Adam Woźniczkaawozniczka@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-224
Engineering and technical employees
M. Eng. Marcin Białowąs mbialowas@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-129
Dr. Joanna Całkiewiczjcalkiewicz@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-260
Małgorzata Dembek, M. Sc.mdembek@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-227
Martyna Greszkiewicz, M.Sc.mgreszkiewicz@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-227
Sławomira Gromisz, M. Sc.sgromisz@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-145
M. Eng. Katarzyna Horbowakhorbowa@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-145
M. Eng. Aneta Jakubowska*ajakubowska@mir.gdynia.pl+48 913-262-727
Dr. Magdalena Jakubowska mjakubowska@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-129
Anna Jankowska-Tessmer, M.Sc.ajankowska@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-148
Janina Kownacka, M. Sc.jkownacka@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-289
Krzysztof Pawlikowski, M.Sc.kpawlikowski@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-149
Dr. Beata Schmidtbschmidt@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-149
Dr. Agnieszka Szkudlarek-Pawełczyk*apawelczyk@mir.gdynia.pl+48 913-262-727
Lena Szymanek, M.Sc.lszymanek@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-135
Bartosz Witalis, M.Sc.bwitalis@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-132
Dr. Tycjan Wodzinowskitwodzinowski@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-132
Hanna Wróblewskahwroblewska@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-126
Dr. Mariusz Zalewskimzalewski@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-141
*- Research Station in Świnoujście