Department of Fisheries Resources

This is a parallax text block. Click the edit button to change this text.

About the department

The basic aim of the Department’s activity is to develop and implement an ecosystem approach to the resources management, i.e. considering the impact of environmental factors on the living resources as well as the impact of fisheries on the exploited resources and the ecosystem.

These themes are approached through the following research fields:

  • Biology and the significance of fish populations in the Baltic Sea ecosystem, including:
    • determining the impact of natural and anthropogenic factors on the life processes and behaviour of fish (like reproduction, growth, feeding or migrations),
    • analysis of chosen parameters and characteristics of fish as bio-indicators for changes which occur in the environment,
    • genetic characteristics of the used resources, with a special attention paid to the possibilities of identifying populations.
  • Defining the dynamics and production of stocks of significant species of fish, which are caught as a part of Baltic and deep-sea fisheries, so that their resources can be used rationally.

Staff

NAMEE-MAILTELEPHONE NUMBER
Head
Prof. Jan Horbowyzasoby-rybackie@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-267

Deputy Head
Dr.Eng. Kordian Trellaktrella@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-266

Professors
Prof. Jan Horbowyjhorbowy@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-267
Dr. Magdalena Podolska, Professor of NMFRImpodolska@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-225
Dr.Eng. Iwona Psuty, Professor of NMFRIipsuty@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-140
Senior scientists
Dr. Włodzimierz Grygielwgrygiel@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-270
Dr.Eng. Krzysztof Radtkekradtke@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-223
Dr. Anna Wąs-Barczawas@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-275
Assistants
Dr. Szymon Smolińskissmolinski@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-193
Engineering and technical employees
Dr.Eng. Jerzy Januszjjanusz@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-214
M.Eng. Tadeusz Krajniak*tkrajniak@mir.gdynia.pl+48 913-262-722
Zuzanna Mirny, M.Sc.zmirny@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-213
Dr. Katarzyna Nadolna-Ałtynknadolna@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-269
Joanna Pawlak, M.Sc.jpawlak@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-187
Dr.Eng. Wojciech Pelczarskiwpelczarski@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-234
Sylwia Stasiaksstasiak@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-206
Dr.Eng. Kordian Trellaktrella@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-266
M.Eng. Mirosław Wyszyńskimwyszynski@mir.gdynia.pl+48 587-356-269
*- Research Station in Świnoujście